Eligibility for Section 8

Residents questioning, “What is Section 8 ?” are also referring to the Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Program administered by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

Section 8 eligibility requirements must be met by program applicants before enrollment in the program.

Many residents may wonder, “What are the requirements for Section 8?” if they need financial assistance obtaining suitable housing for rent in the state.

Additionally, residents may ask, “What do I need to apply for Section 8 ?” if they believe they may qualify for benefits with the low-income housing program.

Potential applicants who are wondering, “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing?” should learn about the income and citizenship guidelines set by the program before applying.

Applicants are Section 8 eligible when their income level, citizenship status and other program requirements meet the guidelines.

To find out what are the qualifications for low income housing and who is ineligible for benefits, read through the following sections.

What are the requirements for Section 8 ?

The criteria for Section 8 eligibility include income, citizenship status and family composition.

The requirements for Section 8 housing are in place to determine who is truly in need of subsidized housing.

Before applying for housing assistance, petitioners should review these three important qualifications.

Potential applicants who ask, “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing ?” should first review their monthly income and the limits set by the local Public Housing Authority (PHA) where they wish to apply.

The Section 8 eligibility requirements for income are set by each PHA for the jurisdiction it oversees.

The PHA sets income guidelines based on the average income in the area, but the requirements also consider family size.

When asking about the income requirements for Section 8, potential applicants will find there are two different income thresholds set for program benefits.

Section 8 qualifications for income are met when a family proves they earn at or below the very-low income limit or the low-income limit.

Applicants who qualify for Section 8 housing for having a low or very-low income will have collective earning less than a percentage of the area’s median income.

Since this may vary between location and PHA offices, applicants wondering what are the qualifications for low income housing should review the income guidelines in their desired housing areas.

For Section 8 eligibility is continually assessed through HUD, and applicants who have changed to their earnings may lose eligibility.

Potential HCV program applicants who ask, “What do I need to apply for Section 8 housing?” should be prepared with citizenship documentation. When proving Section 8 eligibility , the PHA asks the applicant for identification that proves he or she is a legal United States citizen.

If he or she is a non-citizen, then official documentation that proves his or her legal status is required when applying.

Applicants unsure of what is Section 8 proof of citizenship should consult with a local PHA representative to review the acceptable documents that properly prove citizenship status.

What is needed to apply for Section 8 may vary depending on the type of citizenship status a potential applicant holds.

When attempting to meet Section 8 qualifications , potential applicants who are not United States citizens may need to prove they meet one of the following non-citizen statuses:

  • Refugee
  • Asylee
  • Lawfully admitted for temporary or permanent residence
  • Entered the country on or before January 1, 1972
  • Lawfully permitted to work in the country

To learn about what are the qualifications for low income housing and citizenship status, including the documents requested to prove status, download our informative online guide.

When an applicant questions, “Do I qualify for Section 8 housing ?” he or she should review the definition of family as it pertains to the HUD guidelines.

When attempting to meet Section 8 eligibility qualifications, the applicant must be considered a family unit, which may be an individual person or a group of individuals who reside together.

Additionally, the requirements for Section 8 families include labeling the families depending on their characteristics.

For example, a family may be considered a “disabled family” by a PHA if the head of household, co-head or sole member has a disability.

If certain Section 8 requirements are met for a family, then they may be eligible for additional benefits.

The Section 8 Eligibility and Disqualifications

Potential applicants examining what are the requirements for Section 8 should ensure they meet all guidelines set by the PHA where they are submitting applications.

Section 8 eligibility is denied for applicants who cannot provide citizenship or income documentation when requested by PHA representatives.

Additionally, when reviewing what is Section 8 eligibility criteria, potential applicants will find they are denied benefits if they have been evicted from a Section 8 property due to a drug-related criminal activity.

Section 8 qualifications are not met by applicants for a certain number of years after the date of eviction for drug-related crimes.

Potential applicants who want to learn what are the qualifications for low income housing should review HUD’s eligibility requirements and the PHA-specific requirements when applying.

To find out more about The Section 8 eligibility guidelines and who is ineligible for benefits through the HCV program, download and review our online guide.